Connect with us


Jewel Taylor, Ibrahim Mahama, Mo Abudu, Bogolo Kenewendo honoured at 2018 African Achievers Awards at UK House of Parliament



Jewel Taylor, Ibrahim Mahama, Mo Abudu, Bogolo Kenewendo honoured at 2018 African Achievers Awards at UK House of Parliament

The 2018 African Achievers Awards which was held on July 5th, 2018 at the UK House of Parliament has presented various honors to distinguished Africans from across the continent and in the diaspora.
The ceremony which was chaired by Susan Fajana Thomas -former Mayor of the London Borough of Hackney & Chairperson of the African Achievers Awards Board and hosted by Rt. Hon. Diane Abbott (Current Shadow Home Secretary, United Kingdom) was held on the theme; Girls right to Education; a case for Africa.
Speakers at the ceremony included: H. E Jewel Cianeh Howard Taylor, vice president of Liberia, who delivered the Keynote Address, Dr Josephine Ojiambo, Immediate past Deputy Secretary-General of the Commonwealth as special Guest Speaker, Justina Mutale, founder of the Justina Mutale Foundation and Author, Novelist and Poet, Titi Horsfall.
Lindsey Oliver, Founding Director of Aljezeera & Mo Abudu, Founder of Ebony Life TV also delivered goodwill messages at the ceremony.
Now in its 8th edition, the awards have consistently honored great African Achievers from African Leaders, Young Achievers, and Community Builders to Captains of Industries across the continent.
Speaking at the event, Principal Partner of the award, Tonye Rex Idaminabo congratulated all the winners and urged them to extend their experience through mentorship to teaming young people across Africa.
Below are the winners and the awards they received
1. H. E. Senator Jewel Howard Taylor – Excellence In Public Office & Community Impact
2. Hon. Yakubu Dogara – Excellence In Leadership
3. Hon. Bongolo Kenewendo – Award for African Enterprise
4. Dr. Uche Olowo Fcib – Excellence In Leadership (Banking)
5. Mrs. Kate Quartey-Papafio – Award for Enterprise And Business Leadership
6. Dr. Gifty Lamptey – African Woman Of The Year
7. King Adm. Goddy Idaminabo Jp – African Impact Award.
8. Yanga TV – Community Impact Organisation Award
9. Angela Kyerematen-Jimoh – Excellence In Business (West Africa)
10. Hon. Femi Gbajamiamila – African Policy Maker Award
11. Rev. Corneleius Adeyemi Max Williams – Humanitarian Of The Year
12. Mr. Ibrahim Mahama – African Enterprise & African Industrialist Of The Year.
13. Mo Abudu – African Media Personality Of The Year
14. Jennifer Obaseki – Special Recognition Award
15. Chinze Ojobo – African Creative Artist Of The Year
16. Elsie Appau. Esq – Special Recognition Award
17. Ugumba Uche Nwosu – Award for African Youth Empowerment
18. Dr. Boma Douglas – Community Impact Award
19. Maria-Christins Nibagwire – Social Impact Award
20. Pumela Salela – Social Enterprise Award
21. Nancy Amumga – Social Impact Award
22. Dr. Kennedy Okonkwo – Award for Corporate Governance

Past Honorees include;
Arch. Bishop Desmond Tutu, Nelson Mandela Foundation, H.E. Jakaya Kikwete former President Republic of Tanzania), Dr. Margaret Blick Kigozi. (University chancellor and sportswoman. Currently, she works as a consultant at United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO). She formerly served as the Executive Director of the Uganda Investment Authority), Dr. Paul Enenche (Senior Pastor Dunamis International), Mrs. Titi Horsfal, Sir Celestine Omehia, Mr. John Momoh. (He is the Chairman and Founder of Channels Television), Bill and Melinda Gate Foundation, Kofi Annan Foundation, Justina Mutale Foundation, Dr. Justina Mutale, The African Development Bank (AFDB) Sinach (International Gospel Songstress), Dr. Mathews Phosa, Moggesukkel Foundation, H.E Dr. Dlamini Zuma former Chairperson of the African Union Commission, Dr. Josephine Ojiambo Commonwealth Deputy Secretary-General.

Facebook Comments


Eazzy Set To Perform At The “African Party In The Park” In Belgium



Eazzy Performing Live At The "African Party In The Park" In Belgium

Ghanaian top-notch female signer Eazzy will be performing at the African Party In The Park.

The Friends Entertainment organized event will also see many other African artists perform on that same day.

Eazzy who is known for producing back to back hit songs will perform from all her old to new songs as she will thrill fans with powerful stagecraft performances.

View the flyer below for more information.

Listen and Enjoy her new hot single #Move below!!!

Follow Eazzy on these social media handles below!!!

Facebook: Eazzy

Twitter & Instagram: @Eazzyfirstlady

Facebook Comments
Continue Reading


GUBA 2018: Full list of winners



GUBA CEO : Dentaa Amoateng

Musicians Stormzy and Michel Dapaah (Big Shaq), as well as a veteran broadcaster, Kwame Sefa Kayi are among big winners at this year’s Ghana UK- Based Awards, held at the InterContinental Hotel in Greenwich, Saturday, July 14.

The event had a special guest of honor, former president of Ghana, Flt. Lt. Jerry John Rawlings, and was compared by Anita Erskine, and actor Boris Kodjoe.

As usual, it was also graced by the foremost Ghanaian names across the diaspora.

“We are delighted to be celebrating talented and exceptional Ghanaians as winners of the 2018 GUBA awards. From Creative entrepreneurs to outstanding leaders, GUBA continues to uncover numerous role models who are breaking down barriers and changing the game for Ghanaians not only in the UK and Ghana but worldwide,” remarks Dentaa Amoateng — founder and CEO of the scheme.

Below is the full list of winners:

GUBA Association of the year – Ghana Doctors and Dentists UK (GDDA-UK)

GUBA Celebrity Humanitarian – Kwami Sefa Kayi

GUBA Efie Ne Fie – Eric Andoh

GUBA Innovation and Technology – Nelpast Ghana Limited

GUBA Leisure and Tourism – The Royal Senchi Hotel and Resort

GUBA Professional of the Year – Charlotte Boaitey

GUBA Rising Diasporan – Bernard Adjei

Black Star Awards winners

Lifetime Achievement Award – Ashley Hammond

Rising Sports Star – Joshua Buatsi

Rising Star Award – Michel Dapaah

Music Excellence Award – Stormzy

Special Achievement Award – Vandyke Appiah Kubi

Television and Film Pioneer Award – Ernest Abbeyquaye

Outstanding Leadership Award – Dr. Cecilia Anim

Outstanding Achievement Award – Attorney General Gloria Akuffo & Former Attorney General, Marietta Brew Oppong

Outstanding Student Achiever Award – Samuel Afari

More Images Courtesy: A Klass, sawukuphotography

Facebook Comments
Continue Reading


Wiyaala Serves Yet Another Thrilling Performance At The African Hague Festival | PHOTOS




Wiyaala debuted as a performer for the Hague African Festival back in 2015, three years on in 2018, the consistent quality associated with her music earned her another call-up.

The Hague African Festival is an annual event that brings African artists (es) to celebrate African arts in the city of Hague, Netherlands. This year’s event marked the 9th consecutive edition after it first aired in 2009.

The untamed lioness as Wiyaala has been nicknamed, served hundreds of music lovers with authenticity, Africanness, good music and captivating dance moves.

Here are some photos we gathered from the event, culled from her facebook page.

Facebook Comments
Continue Reading


Like Facebook Page

Sparkling New Music (Recommended)

New Music!! (Recommended)

New Music!!! (Recommended)

New Music (Recommended)

New Music!!!

New Music

Trending This Week

Latest Stories